Kindness: The Sunshine in which Virtue Grows

Aleena Rabia Khan
3 min readFeb 22, 2019

The world has become so fast and hast these days that kindness has become a rare mineral. People are looking for their benefit in every relationship they seek. This trend needs to change and the change has to begin from within our selves.

You can accomplish by kindness what you cannot by force. Publilius Syrus

I decided for myself, to note down random acts of kindness I did in 24 hours and how it made me feel. I was confused on what could be classified as being kind, as kindness is subjective. So I decided that I would consider those actions as kindness which would make someone smile.

This morning started with enthusiasm to see if I am kind or would it just be a one day project. When I woke up, my mother was reciting verses. She asked me if I want breakfast. I said that I’d make it myself. I went and made tea for her as well. She had a smile on her face.

I received a call early morning, I was surprised when I was told that I had been shortlisted for E-Rozgaar Training. I thanked the lady who informed me about it. I could sense the change in her tone after I thanked her.

I have a habit of greeting the Uber captains. Today I looked at the captain’s face, who had a smile after I said Assalam-o-Alaikum to him. and he smiled even wider when I said Thankyou, KhudaHafiz to him.

While I was wandering outside AMAL with a fellow friend, I saw a baby inside a car with his mother. I waved to him enthusiastically. He started giggling and waved back. His mother also looked at me, smiled and waved back. The baby resembled this little one.

I had asked a fellow friend to visit AMAL to work on the weekly project together. He had reached before me. I apologized to him for being a little too late. After AMAL, I took him to my favourite restaurant. We enjoyed cookie skillet brownie which he loved more than I do. He loved the calming atmosphere as well. We talked and shared stories for over an hour.

When I returned home and checked my facebook notifications, I saw that today was my old friend’s birthday. I instantly picked up my phone and called her. She was really surprised and happy that I called her. We talked for 40 minutes or so. we reminisced old stories, shared our current stories and future plans. I got to know so many new things about her.

I had an entirely refreshing day after spending such a day. Some things I didn’t even know I did, were kind deeds. What I learnt from this activity is that you do not have to go the extra mile to be kind. We never know what the other person is going through. the least we can do for them is be kind. It may not make much of a difference in our lives but it can make someone else’s whole day.

--

--